If You Like This, Try This – Book Recommendations (Bout of Books Challenge)

It is Day 4 of Bout of Books read-a-thon and today’s challenge is to give some book recommendations on the “If you like this, try this” base.

So, without further ado, here are my book suggestions:

 

If you like chick-lit series with clumsy heroines that will get under your skin, books that will make you feel better even if you had a bad day, try I heart series by Lindsey Kelk.

i heart

 

If you like books with time travel that will keep you on the edge and make you want to speed up your reading so you could turn those pages fast enough, try Tempest series by Julie Cross.

tempest series

 

If you like books with setting so well described and mental landscape pictures so tempting that you will want to transport yourself in the story so you could be there and see the beauty of the place with your own eyes, try My Map pf You by Isabelle Broom.

my map of you

 

If you like books that will make you feel emotional and you will think about the story for days after finishing it, try The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters.

the second love

 

If you like books that give you glimpse of past while following the present, books that will make you think of other people’s reasons behind their actions, with a chance to wrack judgments you have, try Christmas at Tiffany’s by Karen Swan.

karen swan

 

If you like hot, swoon worthy feel good young adult contemporary reads, try On the Fence by Kasie West.

18298225

Book Review: The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters

the second love

Title: The Second Love of My Life
Author: Victoria Walters
Publisher: Headline Review
Date: April 7th, 2016
Pages: 320
Format: paperback ARC
Source: Won in a giveaway

 

Synopsis (from Goodreads)Victoria Walters’ debut novel is a powerful tale of love, grief and survival, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson. ‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’Heat

In the Cornish town of Talting, everyone is famous for something.

Until recently Rose was known for many things: her infectious positivity; her unique artistic talent; and her devotion to childhood sweetheart Lucas.

But two years ago that changed in one unthinkable moment. Now, Rose is known for being the young woman who became a widow aged just twenty-four.

Though Rose knows that life must go on, the thought of carving out a new future for herself is one she can barely entertain. Until a newcomer, Robert, arrives in Talting for the summer…

Can Rose allow herself the chance to love again?

Get lost in Victoria Walters’ immensely touching debut novel, and discover a world that will capture your imagination and heart.

*Amazon RISING STAR*

Readers are falling in love with THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE:

‘A beautiful story – full of heart’ Giovanna Fletcher

‘A sobtastic story’ Red Online

‘Just darn brilliant’ Look

‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’ Heat

‘Heartbreaking and heart-awakening’ Lisa Dickenson

vrpca

Review:

„ But the problem with moments is when you know you won’t have any more of them, they become infinitely more significant.

I wish I had treasured the moments more at the time but that’s the problem with moments, you never know when you are about to have your last one.“

 

The Second Love of my Life is a story about a young woman named Rose who lost the man she supposed to spend her life with. Two years after the horrible accident that left her without her husband, she is still trying to pick up the pieces of herself.

Saying that I liked this book would feel like underrating it. Saying that I loved it would still feel like underrating it.
That is the problem when it comes to reviewing a book you feel like is one of the best pieces you have read in months.
No matter how hard you try to put your feelings out there, you just feel like there’s no review that could do it justice.

I am so grateful that I had an opportunity to read this book and to discover this amazing writer while she is still a debut author.
Victoria Walter’s writing style is so beautiful and I have a feeling we will read a lot of her work in the future. At least I hope we will.

She captured Rose‘s inner struggle in such a beautiful and yet realistic way, that I, as a reader, wanted to transform myself there, in an imaginary town called Talting, and be there for her.
It was hard at some parts reading how terrible Rose had felt, but at the same time, there was beauty in it.
Reading this book was a bautiful experiance.
Books like this one are the reason why I read.

I liked every character in this book, which is a rare thing for me.
I already read Walter’s short story The Summer I Met You (and I liked it) in which we follow Rose’s best friend Emma. Even though I liked her there, I can honestly say that I liked her here, as a side character, even more.

I loved the atmosphere in this book. Reading about small towns and it’s residents are what I usually enjoy and reading about Talting was no exception.

However, my favorite part in this book was the one that’s taking place in Scotland.
The reason for that is not the place, but the realisation that came to a certain character there.

Overall, reading The Second Love of My Life was an emotional ride I am glad I took.
I am so happy I discovered this author and I can’t wait to read her next book, even though I don’t know when that will be.
At this point, it doesn’t even matter, because this book convinced me that it will be worth waiting for it.
In the meantime, I am sure I will re-read The Second Love of My Life few times (or more).

4,75

Spring Reading: 10 books I want to read this Spring

Happy first day of Spring, everyone!!!

I did some blog hopping these days, and got an inspiration for this post.
I know this was a theme for TTT, but since I don’t do TTT and I still wanted to write about my Spring reads, I decided that first day of Spring would be a perfect day..

My main inspiration came from the post by Liv from curlyhairbibliophile .

Without further ado, these are 10 books I want to read this Spring:

 

  1. The Second Love of my Life by Victoria Walters

the second love

This book comes out on April 7th. I already read it’s short story prequel, The Summer I Met You (you can read my review here) and liked it very much, so I can’t wait to see what Walters cooked for us in her full-lenght debut.
I hear this women’s fiction story is a real tearjerker so I’ll make sure to prepare some tissues for myself.

 

2. The Winner’s Triology by Marie Rutkoski

winners

I want to read this series for some time now and, since the last book is coming out soon, I figured it would be the best to just marathon the whole series. I want to do it ASAP, so that’s the reason why I’m choosing to read it this Spring.

 

3. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

the raven

Another series I want to marathon. First thing that bought me as a reader is the gorgeous cover for the last book in the series (yes, I know, I am shallow like that).
Second thing is, one of my favorite booktubers, Daniella from Pixie Tonic chanel said this is the best ya series outthere at this very moment, and I trust her opinion more they anyone’s.

 

4. Summer Nights at the Moonlight Hotel by Jane Costello

Summer Nights at Moonlight hotel

My favorite author is coming out with her new book on March 24th. This book is the first one from this list that I’ll be reading, and I plan to do that on it’s releasing day, if TBD delivers it on time. I am too excited for this one!

 

5. The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

the glittering court

Another book I plan to read on it’s releasing day, April 5th (if TBD delivers it on time, that is!). Richelle Mead is also one of my all-time favorite authors and I can’t wait to see what she prepared for us this time!

 

6. Warrior Witch by Danielle L. Jensen

warrior witch

My favorite on-going series is coming to an end and I can’t wait to see how it all’s going to wrap up, but am also sad to say goodbye to this world and it’s characters.
I am sure this series will be the one I’ll re-read many times in my life.

 

7. I heart London by Lindsey Kelk

I heart london

I am the worst reader ever, because this is my favorite chick-lit series and I still haven’t finished it.
I just HEART Angela Clark and Jenny Lopez and can’t wait to hang out with them again this Spring.

 

8. The Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

girl against

I simply can’t wait for this ya contemporary to come out. It sounds like it is written for me and I hope it will live up to my expectations. This one comes out on May 17th.

 

9. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

anne

This classic is the one I want to read very soon. I never got the chance to read it in my native language, so I bought it in English. I can’t wait to see how I’ll like the book that is loved by so many people in the world.

 

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride

Once again I am the worst reader ever. This book that is loved by so many people in the world is the one that is still not on my “read” list.
I plan to change that this Spring in a hope that I’ll like it.

 

What books do you plan to read this Spring?
Tell me all about it in comments. 🙂

Bullet Short Stoy Review: The Summer I Met You by Victoria Walters

the summer

Title: The Summer I Met You
Author: Victoria Walters
Publisher: Headline Review
Date: February 11th, 2016
Pages: 65
Format: ebook
Source: Purchased

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Escape to Cornwall and meet the characters of Talting in this wonderful digital short story and prequel to Victoria Walters’ captivating debut novel, THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE.

This is a summer romance that will last a lifetime…

vrpca

Review:

„In that moment he made me as if we had lifted off from the ground and were dancing amongst the stars.“

What you need to know about this short story:

  • It is a prequel to Victoria Walter’s debut novel The Second Love of My Life, that comes out this April.
  • It is written in first person, from the perspective of a young girl called Emma.
  • Emma is telling the story in two different time periods: now and then, which are separated by the three months period.
  • The Summer I Met You is a story of falling in love.
  • Although Emma and her love interest, John, are main characters in this story, they are not main characters in the full-leight novel that follows this story.
  • Main character in The Secon Love of My Life is Rose, Emma’s best friend, and we get to meet her in this prequel.

What you should be warned about:the second love

  • It contains insta-love (which is not a bad thing, from my perspective).
  • Not all 65 pages of this ebook are an actual story, some of them are a part of an exclusive extract from The Second Love of My Life.

What I liked about this book:

  • The writing style is worth to be commended
  • The way the writer describes places is just so realistic and beautiful at the same time. I could’t help but imagine Emma’s room, the view to the sea and the smell of pigs and cows in the air, it was like being there partly.
  • Both setting were just amazing.
  • Characters were likeable, especially Rose and her husband Lucas.

What I’d like to change in this piece of work:

  • I only wish it was a bit longer so we could watch how Emma and John’s love was developing and how they spent time that Summer.

Overall, the purpose of this short story is to introduce us to characters from The Second Love of my Life. In that purpose, it succeeded.
When I say I can’t wait to read Walter’s debut novel, I mean it wholeheartedly. I really enjoyed this story and find the writing style so beautiful and appealing that I just can’t wait to see what the writer is going to present us in her full-leight book.

Even though this is a prequel, it can be read on it’s own and I think if you decide to give it a try, you will probably enjoy it. I know I did.

4