Book Review: A Christmas Date by Camilla Isley #BookReview #AChristmasDate #Christmas

Title: A Christmas Date
Series: First Comes Love (#3)
Author: Camilla Isley
Publisher: Pink Bloom Press
Date: October 25th, 2018
Pages: 231
Format: eARC
Source: from Author for a review

Synopsis (from Goodreads): No one wants to be single at the holidays.

Even Little Miss Grinch, Nikki, a successful and independent woman, must face her bachelorette status at the most horrible time of the year.

December is her personal version of holly-jolly hell: a merry torture made of couples kissing at every corner, forced vacation days, and an inescapable family reunion.

And when her baby sister announces she’s engaged—to Paul, the man Nikki is secretly in love with—and that he’s spending the holidays with them, Christmas starts looking bluer than ever.

Nikki can’t possibly survive an entire week trapped home as the family’s spinster. But she has no time to meet men or to try the newest dating app, she’s too busy working as a video producer for an advertising agency.

So what’s a girl to do?

Nikki has the perfect solution: to hire a fake boyfriend.

Luckily, her job gives her access to an endless catalog of gorgeous actors to choose from.

But Nikki will soon discover that keeping business and pleasure from mixing isn’t so easy, and that she might not be immune to a little mistletoe magic. Especially not when she picked out the perfect man as her Christmas date…

A fun, festive romantic comedy with lots of bad behavior and Christmas spirit. Like a creamy hot chocolate with marshmallows, you won’t want to put this deliciously hilarious novel down. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sally Thorne, and Jo Watson.

First Comes Love is a series of interconnected romantic novels. However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone.

Review:

First of all, I think this book has the longest synopsis ever, so I won’t repeat what it is about, just read them if you’re interested (or don’t if you’re like me, and like to go into books blind).

Camilla Isley is the author who’s books I noticed before and some of them are on my tbr list, but I still didn’t read them for one reason or another (you know how it goes, too many books, so little time and similar excuses).
When I saw her email in my mailbox I was surprised, to say the least. I always admired her from away, and to see that she knows who I am and wants me to review her book was a pleasant shock.

I had so much fun reading A Christmas Date. It was quick and quirky, and it made me laugh out loud. 
I liked the story. It does have some cliches, but I didn’t mind them.

What I liked the most was the writing style. Reading this novel was easy as drinking, I just flew through it, and before I realized, the story was over.
It was short and sweet, just like a chick-lit novels should be.

I mean, A Christmas Date is a chick lit at it’s best.

What I also liked about this book is how it explores siblings relationship, including rivalry and affection.

I liked almost all the characters from the book. The only one I wasn’t a fan of was Nikki’s sister, but then again, since Nikki has love/hate relationship with her, and the story is written from Nikki’s POV, I think Julia was ment to be unlikeable.

This is a festive read, but since Nikki has somewhat Grinchy approach to holidays, it was refreshing to read about Christmas in a different light.
However, even Nikki’s grumpy attitude couldn’t kill the Christmas spirit of the story.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading A Christmas Date and am looking forward to read Isley’s other books.

I would recommend this book to everyone who is in the mood for some merry chick lit.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.